VA Loans for Duplexes, Triplexes, and Fourplexes in 2026
Veterans can use a VA loan to buy a property with up to four residential units and one business unit, as long as one unit becomes the primary residence. The biggest underwriting questions are occupancy intent, whether projected rent can offset the mortgage, and whether every unit meets VA property standards.
Next step: Check Multi-Family Eligibility
Eligibility Rules
- Four family units plus one business unit. The VA permits up to four residential units and one business unit per property. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Occupy one unit within 60 days. The Veteran must certify intent to personally occupy one unit as a primary residence within 60 days of closing. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Every unit inspected. All units must meet VA minimum property requirements at appraisal, including vacant units. [VA rule] · Ch. 12
- Mixed-use conditions. Allowed only when the property is primarily residential, has no more than one business unit, and the nonresidential area does not exceed 25% of total floor area. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
Using Rental Income
- 75% of the lease or rental agreement. For an existing property, the qualifying amount is 75% of the lease or rental agreement unless a greater percentage can be documented. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- 75% of appraiser’s fair rent for proposed construction. When no lease history exists, the appraiser’s opinion of fair monthly rental is the basis. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- Six months PITI reserves required. The VA requires cash reserves of at least six months of mortgage payments when subject-property rent is used to qualify. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- Landlord experience or management company. Documentation of prior experience managing rental units, or use of a property management company, is required. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
Entitlement and Limits
- Full entitlement, no VA cap. With full entitlement the VA imposes no loan limit for zero down payment; the lender, appraisal, and income control the loan size. [VA rule] · Circular 26-25-10
- One-unit CLL for partial entitlement. Even on a multi-unit purchase, the entitlement statute uses the conforming loan limit for a single-family residence. [VA rule] · Circular 26-25-10
- 2026 baseline $832,750. The one-unit conforming loan limit baseline is $832,750; the high-cost ceiling is $1,249,125. [FHFA 2026]
- Reserves must be own funds. Equity in the property cannot be used as reserves, and neither can gift funds or VA cash-out refinance proceeds. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
House Hacking
- Occupy one unit, rent the rest. Live in one unit to satisfy VA occupancy while the other units offset housing costs with rental income. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- No stated minimum stay. The Handbook addresses when the Veteran must move in but does not state a minimum post-occupancy duration. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- PCS does not trigger default. Deployed Service members in a temporary duty status can meet the occupancy requirement regardless of spouse availability. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Reserve for vacancy and repairs. Budget at least 5% vacancy and 5% maintenance against gross rent before committing to a price. [Common lender practice]
Top questions before you dig in
Can you buy a duplex with a VA loan in 2026?
Can VA lenders use rent from the other units to help you qualify?
Do all units in a fourplex have to meet VA property standards?
The Bottom Line Up Front
A VA loan can finance residential property with up to four units, and a fifth business unit, as long as you occupy one unit as your primary residence.
Two eligible Veterans buying together can cover up to six family units plus one business unit under a joint VA loan. The VA requires occupancy certification within 60 days of closing. If you use prospective rental income from the other units to qualify, the VA requires 6 months of PITI reserves and documentation of landlord experience or a property management company.
How many units does the VA allow?
The VA guarantees loans on residential property containing up to four family units and one business unit. The Veteran must occupy one unit as a primary residence. A fifth residential unit makes the property ineligible for VA financing regardless of the borrower’s plans.
Two eligible Veterans buying together can exceed the four-unit standard. A two-Veteran joint loan may cover up to six family units plus one business unit, because each Veteran adds one unit to the base four. Any property exceeding that count, or with more than one business unit, is ineligible for VA guaranty.
- Four family units plus one business unit. The VA permits this maximum per property for a single Veteran. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Two Veterans, six family units plus one business. Each Veteran adds one family unit to the base four; a non-spouse joint loan requires prior approval. [VA rule] · Ch. 7
- Confirm the legal unit count early. Verify zoning use, building permits, appraiser unit count, tax-record configuration, and check for unpermitted conversions before making an offer. [Practical step]
- Check utility metering. Units in a two- to four-unit property may share utilities only if there are separate service shut-offs for each unit. [VA rule] · Ch. 12
What does owner occupancy mean for a VA multi-family loan?
The VA requires the Veteran to certify intent to personally occupy the property as a home. “Reasonable time” for move-in means within 60 days after loan closing. Delayed occupancy beyond 60 days requires both a certified future date and a particular event making that date possible. Occupancy at a date beyond 12 months after loan closing generally cannot be considered reasonable by the VA.
The Handbook addresses when the Veteran must move in. It does not state a minimum period the Veteran must remain in the property after establishing occupancy.
Active-duty Service members deployed from their permanent duty station are in a temporary duty status and can meet the occupancy requirement. If a spouse or dependent child occupies the property, that satisfies the occupancy requirement for a Veteran on active duty who cannot personally move in within a reasonable time.
- Intent at closing, move-in within 60 days. The Veteran certifies occupancy intent; 60 days is the VA standard for a reasonable move-in period. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Deployed Service members meet occupancy. A temporary duty status satisfies the requirement regardless of spouse availability. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Decide which unit you will occupy and document it. Pick the unit before closing so the appraiser, lender, and lease arrangements all reference the same unit. [Practical step]
- Align the closing date to your move timeline. If a PCS or deployment is pending, build the timeline into the contract so the 60-day window is realistic. [Practical step]
How can rental income help you qualify?
The VA allows prospective rental income from non-owner-occupied units to be included in effective income. For an existing property, the qualifying amount is 75% of the lease or rental agreement unless a greater percentage can be documented. For qualifying purposes, this discounted rent offsets the mortgage payment or counts as effective income when the borrower meets the reserve and landlord-capability requirements below.
On proposed construction, the qualifying amount is 75% of the appraiser’s opinion of the property’s fair monthly rental.
The VA Handbook permits a greater percentage than 75% only when adequate documentation supports it.
- 75% of the lease or rental agreement. For an existing property with a lease, the VA uses 75% of the documented rent as qualifying income. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- 75% of appraiser fair rent for proposed construction. When no lease history exists, the appraiser provides the fair monthly rental estimate. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- Collect leases, rent rolls, and deposit proof. Gather all lease documents and rental payment history before submitting the file to the lender. [Practical step]
- Run the budget with one unit vacant. Stress-test monthly cash flow assuming one non-owner unit produces no rent before committing to a price. [Practical step]
Reserves and landlord capability when subject rent is used
When rental income from the subject property is used to qualify the borrower, the VA requires cash reserves totaling at least six months of mortgage payments (PITI), and documentation of the borrower’s prior experience managing rental units or use of a property management company to oversee the property. The borrower must also have a reasonable likelihood of success as a landlord.
Reserves must be the borrower’s own funds. Equity in the property cannot be used. Gift funds cannot be used to meet reserve requirements. Cash proceeds from a VA cash-out refinance cannot be counted as the required PITI reserves.
- Six months PITI in own funds. Equity in the property, gift funds, and VA cash-out proceeds cannot be used to meet the reserve requirement. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- Landlord experience or property management. The borrower must document prior rental management or engagement of a property management company. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- Plan reserves in liquid accounts. Keep reserves in a savings or money market account the lender can verify; retirement accounts and equity do not count. [Practical step]
- Ask for the lender’s multi-unit overlay list before offering. Reserve, credit, and documentation overlays vary by lender and can exceed the VA minimum significantly. [Common lender practice]
Does the VA have a 3-4 unit self-sufficiency test?
No. The self-sufficiency test is an FHA requirement, not a VA rule. Under HUD Handbook 4000.1, FHA requires that the PITI on a three- or four-unit property not exceed 100% of the net self-sufficiency rental income.
FHA calculates net self-sufficiency rental income by taking the appraiser’s estimate of fair market rent from all units (including the owner’s unit), then subtracting the greater of the appraiser’s vacancy and maintenance estimate or 25% of the fair market rent.
A VA lender may apply a similar coverage test as an overlay, but the VA program itself does not impose one. When evaluating a multi-unit VA file, check with the lender whether their internal guidelines include a self-sufficiency-style requirement.
- FHA requires the self-sufficiency test on 3-4 units. The PITI must not exceed 100% of the net self-sufficiency rental income calculated from all units. [FHA rule] · HUD 4000.1
- The VA does not impose this test. A VA lender may apply a similar coverage requirement as an overlay, but the VA program itself has no self-sufficiency gate. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- Confirm whether the lender applies a coverage test. If the lender uses an FHA-style self-sufficiency overlay, model the numbers before offering. [Common lender practice]
Appraisal and VA property standards across all units
Every unit in a multi-family property must meet VA minimum property requirements (MPRs), which ensure the property is safe, structurally sound, and sanitary. Each living unit must be accessible without passing through any other living unit. The appraiser inspects all units and notes any deficiencies requiring repair before closing.
Key MPR items across all units include: each unit must have electricity for lighting and necessary equipment; heating must be permanently installed and maintain at least 50 degrees Fahrenheit in areas with plumbing; the roof covering must prevent moisture intrusion; each unit needs a continuous supply of safe potable water, hot water, sanitary facilities, and a safe method of sewage disposal; and if the dwelling was built before 1978, the presence of lead-based paint must be presumed. Units in a two- to four-unit property may share water, sewer, gas, or electricity as long as there are separate service shut-offs for each unit.
- Every unit inspected. Each living unit must be accessible without passing through another unit, and each must have electricity, heating, water, and sanitary facilities. [VA rule] · Ch. 12
- Heating at 50 degrees minimum. Heating must be permanently installed and maintain at least 50 degrees Fahrenheit in areas with plumbing. [VA rule] · Ch. 12
- Walk every unit before offering. A deficiency in any single unit, including a vacant one, can hold up the entire closing until repaired. [Practical step]
- Negotiate repair responsibility up front. Write unit-specific repair obligations into the purchase contract so the seller’s share is clear before the appraisal. [Practical step]
Joint VA loans: two Veterans buying together
Two eligible Veterans buying together can finance a property with up to six family units and one business unit. The base is four family units plus one additional family unit for each Veteran participating in ownership.
Any joint loan where a non-spouse holds title with the Veteran must be submitted for VA prior approval. A loan to a Veteran and their spouse, whether or not the spouse also uses entitlement, may be closed automatically under the lender’s automatic authority and does not require prior approval.
- Six family units plus one business unit. Two Veterans buying together may purchase up to this maximum. [VA rule] · Ch. 7
- Non-spouse joint loans need prior approval. Any joint loan where a non-spouse holds title must be submitted to the VA for prior approval. [VA rule] · Ch. 7
- Spouse joint loans close automatically. A Veteran and spouse, whether or not the spouse uses entitlement, may close under the lender’s automatic authority. [VA rule] · Ch. 7
Entitlement and the one-unit limit rule
With full entitlement, the VA imposes no cap on the loan amount for zero down payment. The lender’s underwriting, including income qualification, residual income, and appraisal value, sets the practical ceiling.
With partial entitlement, loan limits affect the borrower’s zero-down capacity. VA Circular 26-25-10 confirms that even on a multi-unit purchase, the entitlement statute requires the use of the conforming loan limit applicable to a single-family residence for calculating remaining entitlement.
The 2026 one-unit baseline conforming loan limit is $832,750. The high-cost area ceiling is $1,249,125. A Veteran with partial entitlement buying a fourplex uses the one-unit county limit in the entitlement calculation, not the four-unit limit.
Remaining entitlement is 25% of the one-unit conforming loan limit, minus previously used and unrestored entitlement. Lenders often limit the loan to four times the remaining entitlement for zero-down eligibility.
- One-unit CLL for entitlement math. Even on a multi-unit purchase, the entitlement statute uses the single-family conforming loan limit. [VA rule] · Circular 26-25-10
- 2026 baseline $832,750. The one-unit conforming loan limit baseline; the high-cost ceiling is $1,249,125. [FHFA 2026]
- Remaining entitlement = 25% of CLL minus charged. Lenders typically limit the zero-down loan to four times the remaining amount. [VA rule] · Circular 26-25-10
How the VA funding fee works on multi-family properties
The funding fee on a multi-family purchase uses the same rate table as a single-family purchase. Rates are effective April 7, 2023, and apply to Veterans, active-duty Service members, and National Guard and Reserve members alike.
| Usage | Down Payment | Fee Rate | Fee on $500K Loan | Fee on $750K Loan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First use | Less than 5% | 2.15% | $10,750 | $16,125 |
| First use | 5% or more | 1.50% | $7,500 | $11,250 |
| First use | 10% or more | 1.25% | $6,250 | $9,375 |
| Subsequent use | Less than 5% | 3.30% | $16,500 | $24,750 |
| Subsequent use | 5% or more | 1.50% | $7,500 | $11,250 |
| Subsequent use | 10% or more | 1.25% | $6,250 | $9,375 |
Who is exempt from the funding fee
The VA exempts five categories of borrowers from the funding fee:
- Veterans receiving VA compensation for a service-connected disability
- Veterans eligible to receive VA compensation for a service-connected disability but receiving retirement or active-duty pay instead
- Surviving spouses receiving Dependency and Indemnity Compensation (DIC)
- Service members with a proposed or memorandum disability rating before the loan closing date based on a pre-discharge claim
- Active-duty members of the Armed Forces who provide evidence of receiving a Purple Heart on or before the loan closing date
- Same rate table as single-family. The funding fee percentage does not change for multi-unit properties. [VA.gov]
- Five exemption categories. Service-connected disability compensation, retirement pay in lieu, DIC, pre-discharge rating, and active-duty Purple Heart. [VA.gov]
- Get insurance quotes early. Multi-unit properties require landlord-grade insurance that can be significantly more expensive than single-family coverage. [Practical step]
How to estimate cash flow before you make an offer
Run three numbers before committing to a price:
| Line Item | Monthly Amount | Arithmetic |
|---|---|---|
| Principal and interest | $2,756 | $459,675 loan at 6.00%, 30-year fixed |
| Property taxes | $450 | Verify with county assessor |
| Homeowner’s insurance | $250 | Verify with insurer |
| Vacancy reserve (5%) | $100 | $2,000 × 5% = $100 |
| Maintenance reserve (5%) | $100 | $2,000 × 5% = $100 |
| Total monthly cost | $3,656 | $2,756 + $450 + $250 + $100 + $100 |
| Gross rent from non-owner unit | $2,000 | Appraiser estimate or lease |
| Net housing cost (gross rent) | $1,656 | $3,656 − $2,000 = $1,656 |
| VA qualifying rent (75% of gross) | $1,500 | $2,000 × 0.75 = $1,500 |
| Net housing cost (qualifying rent only) | $2,156 | $3,656 − $1,500 = $2,156 |
The net housing cost using gross rent ($1,656) is what the owner actually pays each month. The net housing cost using VA qualifying rent ($2,156) reflects what the lender uses in the debt-to-income calculation, because the VA counts only 75% of projected rent.
- VA qualifying rent is 75% of gross. The lender uses the discounted figure, not the full rent, in the DTI calculation. [VA rule] · Ch. 4
- Budget vacancy and maintenance reserves. At minimum, reserve 5% of gross rent for each before committing to a price point. [Common lender practice]
- Write unit access into the contract. The appraiser must inspect all units; if a tenant blocks access the timeline slips. [Practical step]
What happens to your multi-family VA loan after PCS orders?
PCS orders that require the Veteran to vacate do not trigger a default or require the loan to be refinanced. The VA occupancy requirement is about intent at closing, not a guarantee of permanent residence.
Deployed Service members in a temporary duty status can meet the occupancy requirement regardless of whether a spouse is available to occupy the property. If a spouse or dependent child remains in the unit, occupancy is satisfied for a Veteran on active duty who cannot personally occupy within a reasonable time.
After a legitimate move-out, the property functions as a full rental. Cash flow needs to work on its own at that point, because the owner-occupied unit no longer subsidizes the deal.
- PCS does not trigger a default. The VA occupancy requirement is about intent at closing, not a guarantee of permanent residence. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Spouse or dependent occupancy satisfies the requirement. For active-duty Veterans who cannot personally occupy, a family member in the unit is sufficient. [VA rule] · Ch. 3
- Cash flow must work as a full rental after move-out. Once the owner-occupied unit is vacated, the property has no subsidized unit to absorb losses. [Practical step]
VA vs FHA: which loan works for multi-family?
The VA can offer an unusually strong owner-occupied multi-unit financing structure: zero required down payment, no monthly mortgage insurance, and competitive rates. Compare rates, fees, reserves, and rental-income treatment before deciding.
| Feature | VA Loan | FHA Loan |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum down payment | 0% | 3.5% |
| Monthly mortgage insurance | None | Yes (55 bps/year for loans at or below the national conforming loan limit with LTV above 95%) |
| Upfront fee | Funding fee (2.15% first use, 0% down) | UFMIP (1.75%) |
| Max units | 4 (6 with two-Veteran joint loan) | 4 |
| Occupancy required | Yes, primary residence | Yes, primary residence |
| Self-sufficiency test (3-4 units) | No (lender overlay possible) | Yes |
| Rental income counted | 75% of lease or appraiser rent | 75% per HUD 4000.1 |
| VA/FHA loan limit (with full benefit) | None with full entitlement; one-unit county limit for partial entitlement math | $541,287 to $1,249,125 (1-unit floor to ceiling); $693,050 to $1,599,375 (2-unit) |
Deal math: $500,000 duplex
FHA buyer: $17,500 down (3.5%) plus $8,443.75 UFMIP (1.75% of $482,500 loan) plus approximately $221 per month in ongoing annual MIP (0.55% of $482,500 divided by 12).
VA buyer (first use, 0% down): $10,750 funding fee (2.15% of $500,000) rolled into the loan, no monthly insurance.
Over five years, the VA borrower avoids approximately $13,269 in FHA annual MIP payments.
- VA: no monthly mortgage insurance. FHA charges annual MIP of 55 bps for loans at or below the national conforming loan limit with LTV above 95%, payable for the life of the loan. [FHA rule] · HUD 4000.1
- FHA requires the self-sufficiency test. The VA does not, though a lender may apply a similar overlay. [FHA rule] · HUD 4000.1
- VA loan limit uses the one-unit CLL. FHA has separate, higher limits for 2-, 3-, and 4-unit properties. [VA rule] · Circular 26-25-10
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a vacant unit fail the VA appraisal?
Do I have to live in one unit of a VA duplex or fourplex?
How is rental income counted for VA qualification?
What is the biggest lender overlay on VA multi-family loans?
Do loan limits apply to multi-family VA loans in 2026?
How long do I need to live there before moving out and renting everything?
What is the easiest way to avoid a multi-family VA loan delay?
Can two Veterans buy a six-unit property with a VA loan?
What if the units are already tenanted when I buy?
How We Researched This Page
Every factual claim on this page traces to a primary source opened and read during the research session. VA Lender’s Handbook chapters were rendered directly from KnowVA (the VA’s knowledge portal). The VA Circular, FHFA conforming loan limit data, VA.gov funding fee rates, and HUD Handbook 4000.1 were fetched in full. Chapters 4 and 12 were rendered by navigating the KnowVA topic tree (LGY, Policy, Manuals, VAP26-07 Lender’s Handbook) to the chapter article. Every rental-income, reserve, and MPR claim is cited to the specific Handbook topic and line number.
Resources Used
- VA Pamphlet 26-7, Chapter 3: The VA Loan and Guaranty – Eligible property types, occupancy requirements, mixed-use conditions
- VA Pamphlet 26-7, Chapter 4: Credit Underwriting – Rental income rules, 75% factor, reserves, landlord capability
- VA Pamphlet 26-7, Chapter 7: Loans Requiring Special Underwriting – Joint VA loans, two-Veteran unit limits, prior approval
- VA Pamphlet 26-7, Chapter 12: Minimum Property Requirements – Electrical, heating, roof, water, sanitary, lead paint, unit access
- VA Circular 26-25-10 (December 1, 2025) – 2026 conforming loan limits, one-unit CLL rule for multi-unit entitlement
- VA.gov: Funding Fee and Closing Costs – Current funding fee rates and exemption categories
- FHFA 2026 Conforming Loan Limit Values – County-level baseline and ceiling limits
- HUD Handbook 4000.1: FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook – FHA self-sufficiency test, MIP rates
- HUD FHA Mortgage Limits Lookup – 2026 FHA loan limits by county

